This house is one of a cluster of houses between 288 and 302 Main Road which were collectively known as the English Village. It was also called Hodgsonville, because the houses were all built and mostly occupied by the Hodgson family which owned and operated - from the 1880s until 1965 - the sawmill along the waterfront below the "village". The sawmill (see early photograph, courtesy of Scott Langford) was founded by William Hodgson (1839-1919). This house was built in 1905 by his son, George Hodgson (1873-1926), who was manager of the mill. The family of John Brooks, the second owner of the property, lived here from 1958 to 1997.