643 The Oaks
The Oaks was built in 1851 as a home for the Reverend James W. Pyke on land given to him by his father, Judge George Pyke. Reverend Pyke and his wife, Elizabeth McTavish, had 15 children. He was in charge of the Anglican Mission for over half a century until his death in 1896. The Oaks was not the Rectory for St. James Church - two successive
rectories were built by the parish in 1890 and 1904. This building is now owned by Sonja Cirka.